PDA

View Full Version : EL34, 6500A or KT88

The Black Adder
02-11-2010, 07:08
Hello all.

I've recently accuired a Radford STA-25 Renaissance amplifier. It's currently running EL34 of to which I've found that the literature suggests it runs otherwise with 6550A's as the output valves.

I'm new to the valve scene to the degree of power amps so can anyone give me your recommendations? I've been reading that the EL34 is indeed simular to the 6550A as well as the KT88 and that each of the latter are generally more heavy on the bass than the EL34 to which is more leaning towards the mids, can anyone confirm this for me?

Regards
Joe

Techno Commander
02-11-2010, 12:31
I can confirm the KT88 is a more "heavy weight" sounding valve. Whether it is a direct replacement for an EL34, I will leave to someone with more knowledge than me.

spendorman
02-11-2010, 14:15
As an economic replacement for my STA25 III, I used JJ KT77's can't tell the difference between them and genuine GEC KT77's (ridiculous price if one can get them now). I have the original Mullard EL34's stored away, they are still fine.

DSJR
02-11-2010, 15:42
The Radford under-ran the EL34's as I remember, unlike a Tube Technology Genesis mono, which doubled the output of each to make 100W and shagged them in a year. Would you need to change the spec of the EL34's, as trying to increase the ouput, assuming it was possible, would knacker the output transformers I suspect...

AnthonyTD where are you?

The Black Adder
02-11-2010, 15:55
Right thanks Dave n all...

I've just called Watford valve. He said that it's odd to find my model amp running EL34's and told me that it needs to be seen by someone to see if it can still run some 6550's as originally configured.