PDA

View Full Version : Need some speakers....

horace
30-09-2010, 12:58
Hi folks

Having had my cunning plan to buy Ali's electrostatics cruelly blocked by my unreasonable life partner :( ( I mean, they're only five feet tall - what's the bloody problem?), I find myself forced to consider rather less enticing options.

I'm looking at either new or used with a budget of up to about £1500. This is rather more than I am usually able to spend, so I find myself in new territory. Plenty of excellent used speakers available at the £500 mark (my usual budget level) - Ruark Crusaders and Castle Howards have both appeared on my wants list in the past, but I've no real experience of what's available at two or three times that.

In terms of the sound I like, I can say that the Ruark and Castle 'house' sounds have both appealed to me in the past - in many ways, my old Ruark Templars were almost ideal. If I could find Templars-only-more-so, I wouldn't go far wrong, I suspect.

My room is 18' x 25'. I have, in the past, tried some fairly big speakers in that room (Linn Isobariks, Dali skyline 2000). In both cases (especially the latter) there was far too much bass which no amount of repositioning would cure. A case of optimism over experience. Sometimes, less is more.....

My main source is vinyl (Orbe SE, Tecnoarm, Denon 103) feeding a Marantz PM17 KIS.

In deference to swmbo (who has, in all fairness, endured some bloody monstrosities over the years - at one point I had two pairs of teak isobariks in the lounge :rolleyes:), this time I need some speakers that look as good as they sound - the kind of speakers that visitors want to stroke and which don't elicit rolling of the eyes (or worse) when swmbo sees them coming through the door.

I've no real prejudice against standmounters, but for some reason have ended up with floorstanders on most occasions.