PDA

View Full Version : Hello

isj1202
29-08-2010, 21:47
have been browsing the Beresford modding pages and thought that it would be rude not to join.

so here I am

Iain (Ayrshire Scotland):wave:

Spectral Morn
29-08-2010, 21:57
have been browsing the Beresford modding pages and thought that it would be rude not to join.

so here I am

Iain (Ayrshire Scotland):wave:

Welcome to AOS

Can you tell us a bit more about yourself, system and taste in music.

Regards D S D L

isj1202
30-08-2010, 20:47
I am a teacher and bought my first bit of Hi-Fi? in the late 80's. A Mission Cyrus 1 to drive some secondhand Celestion Celeste 4 from a Lenco L75.

The Cyrus was one of the worst sounding bits of kit I've heard. Bought a used Nait and Linn Index speakers (A friend still has them)

Bought an Elite Rock/RB300/ Stilton Audio MP11, when I sold it found out it had a faulty switch, which had affected the sound, regret selling it but don't regret buying an LP12/Ittok/K18

Went to audition Naim 92/90 and ended up with Linn Pretek/LK100 and Keilidhs

Added lots of secondhand bits over the last year and a bit.

Beresford 7520, V-Dac and DacMagic to play with computer audio,(V-Dac in main system from ITX pc, Beresford in office connected to Mac. PC and Linux boxes and DacMagic lent to a friend)

Kairn(Heard one when I bought the Pretek and loved it but the price was well beyond me at the time).

K18 to OC9 to Troika,(first MC was a jaw dropping improvement)

Mimik (just to match the rest of the stuff/ wife uses it, maybe slightly better than V-Dac)

Added a second LK100 and tunebox (Active gave much better bass and more everything else)

Keilidh tweeter upgraded to 015/3 (more detail and less harsh)

Have tried a few things for listening in the computer room
£30 Creek 3030 and £70 Diamond 9.1 (too much bass for the small room)