PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of a DIY amp

Paul
06-08-2010, 20:30
Hi all
I'm new here and have been reading into the DIY amps as I want a dedicated stereo amp for music.preferably a power amp/mono blocks from my TC7520

Can you please help , I have never done anything like this before but am eager to learn and can read a wiring diagram and solder fairly well as I do this in my job quite alot ( motor vehicle tech )
I have seen this site and it looks fairly easy to build, but I wanted to know what you all think about it as you all seem to know your stuff.
http://www.diabloid.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/GBV2.html
Thanks
Paul
:)

aquapiranha
06-08-2010, 20:46
Hi Paul. I have heard a couple of gainclones in my system (built by John Blackburn, a member here) and they are great and don't appear to hard to build. What speakers are you partnering them with?

Steve

Ali Tait
06-08-2010, 21:02
Well that's a sweeping question! As Steve says,what speakers do you use,and what kind of amp are you looking for? SS,Tripath,Chip,Valve? Have you any thoughts on which path you wish to go down?

DSJR
06-08-2010, 21:45
Another fairly easy suggestion may be a ZAP250 from Avondale - What it consists of is a couple of used Naim or new NCC200 boards, a suitable transformer, recification and smoothing parts and the option of a case. maybe not what you're looking for, but results are very good for a few hundred quid and easily as good or better than an "Olive" NAP180.

Paul
07-08-2010, 17:39
Hi
Sorry should have put that in , speakers are Tannoy MX2 standmounters on Alphason stands.
The sort of amp I'm looking for is just one that sounds better than the Denon AVR1910 I use for everything atm, not sure if I want to go Valve yet , I like the idea but have yet to hear one .Not sure of what path to follow , but to start with something fairly simple to get my foot in the door so to speak.