PDA

View Full Version : Luxman PD300 any good?

dcarol
02-08-2010, 19:10
Hi All

Newbie here. Just recently come across this forum and it looks good and healthy. I'm a vinyl man and never really got into buying CDs. My record collection was started by my parents back in the 50's and I inherited the lot - about 1200, mainly Jazz, US 60's prog-folk, Stax and early Motown.

I'm about to setup a system for my son. I've given him my old NAD 3020 and a pair of NAD 8225 loudspeakers. I also have an old but re-tipped (2007) OC9 which will be going through a whestTWO phono stage BUT he is not keen on having a Rega as he wants to be able to switch to 45rpm quickly. He has had a look at the SL1200 but likes (much prefers) the look of the Luxman PD300 which he has seen in a second-hand shop in Brighton where he is studying fine arts.

Is the PD300 a decent sounding table and can it accept a Rega arm or would I need a new/ machined armboard? Apparently the vacuum doesn't work but the rest of it does. Any thoughts or suggestions would be much appreciated.

D

Spectral Morn
02-08-2010, 19:45
Hi All

Newbie here. Just recently come across this forum and it looks good and healthy. I'm a vinyl man and never really got into buying CDs. My record collection was started by my parents back in the 50's and I inherited the lot - about 1200, mainly Jazz, US 60's prog-folk, Stax and early Motown.

I'm about to setup a system for my son. I've given him my old NAD 3020 and a pair of NAD 8225 loudspeakers. I also have an old but re-tipped (2007) OC9 which will be going through a whestTWO phono stage BUT he is not keen on having a Rega as he wants to be able to switch to 45rpm quickly. He has had a look at the SL1200 but likes (much prefers) the look of the Luxman PD300 which he has seen in a second-hand shop in Brighton where he is studying fine arts.