PDA

View Full Version : Just Saying Hello

Thermionic
27-07-2010, 16:58
Hi everyone and greetings to all.

Having lurked for a while I thought I should at least introduce myself, but I don’t expect to be posting much as there seems to be far too many knowledgeable people here already!

I suppose I have been playing with audio off and on since the mid 1960s when as a kid I was given a very bad tape recorder one Christmas. That started the rot to better sound, and I have often reflected that if my dad had given me the very best Ferrograph in the first place it would have saved me (and him) a lot of money...

My interest in sound took me briefly to a small 4 track recording studio in the London suburbs where I got to learn the front end of a U87, the art of soldering an XLR3 and how to make tea for a brass band. That didn’t last long and for the rest of my career I wired medical electronics and worked in various offices, building a fairly eclectic audio system as and when funds permitted. I developed a taste for obsolete (cos it was cheap) professional video equipment and also became a radio amateur, but have rather lost interest in that lately.

Retired and recently married I have rather more time now indulge hobbies health permitting. Mostly inclining to vintage things (both analog and digital) I am lucky to have a wife that encourages my acquisition of the odd decrepit bauble. I even taught her how to lace the Nagra and solder a phono plug, but no comments about newly weds please...

It’s a nice site you have here, hope you don’t mind me continuing to lurk on the side.

Spectral Morn
27-07-2010, 17:20
Welcome to AOS :)

Have fun and enjoy the forum and please feel free to post. I am sure we can learn as much from you as you can us.

Can you add your first name to your very impressive signature.