PDA

View Full Version : Audiomod micrometer tonearm on the technics

Citation16
23-06-2010, 10:52
I never realised a tonearm can make such a difference in a turntable, its a whole new sound.

Many of you have some serious and/or interesting tonearms ( Jelco, SME, Ittok, Triplanar, to name only a few);
now I realise that the tonearm really really changes the whole sonic landscape...

I have limited experience with tonearms, so my comments apply only to the comparing it to my Rega RB250 with cardas wire, Michel weight and collar.

So I set up the audiomod arm on my modified technics with the KAB power supply, the Mike New bearing and platter, 2 extra copper platters, etc...
Audiomods also made a custom 20 mm armplate, level with the plinth, because of the added platter height.

I still have to tweak the cart alignment, the VTA and the anti skating, but its already a winner of a tonearm - a beauty to behold, sonically and visually.

Its an amazing arm; the fit and finish is remarkably astounding.

http://www.audiomods.co.uk/

Already the bass was outstanding with the modified Rega with also the side weights - but the audiomod has more bass. Now, the bass is much deeper, cleaner, incisive and articulate.

Their is much more air and sound stage and much more depth of field and also more ''in the room'' effect, as instruments are much more 3 dimensional and palpable.

The sound is more organic, insofar as you simply hear & feel much more about the instruments and the voices.

The range is expanded as the bass is deeper and cleaner and the highs clearer and more detailed.
The sound seems louder than before at the same volume setting.

The sound has much more texture, nuances, colours and decay...as if someone removed a cloth vail between the listener and the speakers.

Their seems to be more instruments and /or more of everything going on with the music, as if one has walked up to the stage and can hear more and better.