PDA

View Full Version : Sony Playstation 1.

combwork
08-06-2008, 16:51
Has anyone here tried using these as a CD player? I first read about it on AudioKarma; a US based site primarily concerned with 'vintage' Hi-Fi. It's something to do with the DACs used on specific models so it's important to get serial numbers within a certain range but if you do, the sound is outstanding, at least to my 59 year old ears...................

Mike
08-06-2008, 16:57
It's mentioned on another thread somewhere on here....

General consensus was it's pretty poor.

Mike
08-06-2008, 17:00
Here you go:

http://theartofsound.net/forum/showthread.php?t=656&highlight=playstation

Marco
08-06-2008, 17:14
Been there, done it, and it's cack (unless your standards are very low).

Marco.

combwork
09-06-2008, 11:58
Been there, done it, and it's cack (unless your standards are very low).

Marco.

Hmmmmm. My standards are quite high. I repair antique musical boxes for a living and this involves quite a bit of tuning. Realistically, not high frequency stuff; the highest note you're likely to find on any musical box is equivalent to the top note on a piano but to me, it's whether something sounds musical that counts. I have to admit I've not been using a dedicated CD player, just a Panasonic DVD/VCR unit but comparing that with the PS1, the PS wins hands down. More detail in the music, more depth in the music. Not necessarily noticeable on all CDs but not all CDs are equal. I've a couple of giveaway CDs that came with Hi-Fi world. Confusingly they bear the NAIM name (I thought NAIM just made amplifiers?) but the sound is so good......In a way it's annoying; I can't sit and read a book with the music in the background; I end up putting the book down and just listening to the music. I don't know whether it's relevant but my system is SONY PS1 > NAD3020B > QUAD ESL57s. I'm using 'nothing special' speaker cables and a rather nicely made lead for the Playstation. This lead (bought off Ebay) has three RC