PDA

View Full Version : Part 3: How do we know if the reproduced sound is close to real?

magiccarpetride
19-05-2010, 16:55
Concluding the trilogy on what is it that makes us recognize a high fidelity sound system, I'd like to open a discussion on the toughest issue of them all. So far, we've been discussing how does a live performance that involves familiar instruments measure up with that same recorded performance that gets reproduced through the audio chain, as well as how does our impression of a reproduced performance that involves unfamiliar instruments get formed. Both discussions delivered some really illuminating observations and a dearth of kick-ass analyses. Let's now see what you can come up with in answer to this conundrum:

Suppose I'm a composer who is focused on producing pure electronic music. You find me sitting in my studio, dicking around with tone generators, computer software, and such. My aim is to produce electronic sounds that would be utterly unfamiliar to listeners. In other words, I'm not interested in approximating the sounds of familiar instruments.

While pursuing that goal, I'd be playing with generated soundwaves on my computer, applying all kinds of filters, effects, arm wrestling the software in the attempt to arrive at the sound that would be pleasing and satisfactory to my ears. Once I get there, I'd mix it down, master it, burn it, and publish/distribute it.

The question now becomes: when the end consumers listen to this completely fabricated sound on two different sound systems, they may form an opinion that the unfamiliar sound, with its unfamiliar timbre and texture, sounds better on one system than it sounds on another system.