PDA

View Full Version : The One Show, revolutionary new speaker?

Gaz
20-03-2019, 09:08
Did anybody happen to see The One Show on Monday night?

There was a film about how speaker design hasn't fundamentally changed in a hundred years and that a company has come up with a revolutionary new design that uses an electrically charged flat panel instead of a cone with a magnet!

Now I'm no expert but hasn't that been done before by a company whose name begins with a Q?

icehockeyboy
20-03-2019, 09:12
I think a few companies have tried it too, I recall Wharfedale doing them.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

AJSki2fly
20-03-2019, 09:13
Yep, they demonstrated simple electrostatics and made sweeping statements about ability to replicate accurately across audible frequency range. I think the headphones were a snip at several thousands of pounds, but hoped that would come down as more sold to to mass market.

walpurgis
20-03-2019, 09:18
Yes. A lot of nonsense is talked about audio technology.

Though it does seem odd that after all these years, the average speaker still consists of a piece of cardboard (or latterly plastic) being waggled about on the end of a bit of wound copper wire.

Bit like the internal combustion piston engine. We're only just getting past that now after over 100 years.

Firebottle
20-03-2019, 09:22
Yes I was swearing at the tellie!

If you go into the web site they do mention that electrostatics were 'invented' 60 years ago.

Q, now what could that be, Quintet? Query? Quintessential?

Gaz
20-03-2019, 09:33
While it was on I pointed out to Mrs Gaz that her boss owns a 30+ year old pair of these revolutionary new speakers

Pharos
20-03-2019, 11:22
This illustrates just what a ridiculous organisation the BBC has become; many years ago they used 57s in the Transcription unit before their loudspeaker design programme.

anthonyTD
20-03-2019, 11:47
Totaly agree!
This illustrates just what a ridiculous organisation the BBC has become;.

Gaz
20-03-2019, 11:52