PDA

View Full Version : MQA enabled

Tmltech
20-01-2019, 21:22
Hi is the latest Caimen SEG MQA enabled? I'm quite new to this so bear with me. I use a Yamaha WXC 50 as a streaming device and according to specs can output 24/192 I use Tidal HQ and according to another forum to actually hear files in 24/192 you need the DAC to be MQA enabled hence asking

Theadmans
21-01-2019, 18:05
Hi is the latest Caimen SEG MQA enabled? I'm quite new to this so bear with me. I use a Yamaha WXC 50 as a streaming device and according to specs can output 24/192 I use Tidal HQ and according to another forum to actually hear files in 24/192 you need the DAC to be MQA enabled hence asking

The Caiman SEG is not MQA enabled.

Is the only way to listen to Hi-Res on Tidal via MQA files?

I use Qobuz Streaming and they don't use MQA for their Hi-Res streaming. I have streamed 24-96 and 24-192 via Qobuz on my SEG.

struth
21-01-2019, 18:19
Audirvana or roon will un fold mqa with a normal dac

Silent
21-01-2019, 18:40
The Caiman SEG is not MQA enabled.

Is the only way to listen to Hi-Res on Tidal via MQA files?

I use Qobuz Streaming and they don't use MQA for their Hi-Res streaming. I have streamed 24-96 and 24-192 via Qobuz on my SEG.Have you done any comparison between Qobuz and lossless CD rips?

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Tmltech
21-01-2019, 19:22
My understanding is through Tidal that it needs a hardware and software unwrap for MQA files, I can't use Audivarna or Roon as stated I'm using Yamahas own software with the WXC 50. I'm not sure that Quoboz is even supported by Yamaha. I can't change the WXC 50 as its part of a multiroom setup. Any ideas?

struth
21-01-2019, 19:29
Is it upnp enabled. You can then send it from say audirvana to the yamaha unfolded by the program. I send mine to an rpi or to my oppo player. Works seemlessly.

Mr. C
22-01-2019, 10:34