PDA

View Full Version : Fidelity Research FR12 tone arm set up help please??

Natara
26-10-2018, 05:54
I am about to change the armboard on my LP12 which will of course will need me to re set up my FR12. First I will use the old armboard as a template and then drill the new board after which I'm in need of help.

I have downloaded a protractor from Vinyl Engine and even if I could understand all the terms used which I can't I believe it deviates from Fidelity Researches own instructions.

I'm balking at spending £24 for a protractor on on eBay and hoped one of you very kind experts could talk me through the set up of this tonearm using language I understand and taking intio account that although a tradesman and pretty good with my hands I'm a complete novice at this, null points etc are foreign words to me.

Thanks in advance.

Mixc
26-10-2018, 07:22
Hi Hope the install goes well. The important thing to remember is to get the hole in the arm board correct, as this effects the overhang.

Maybe this could fill in some blanks.

https://www.analogplanet.com/content/setting-overhang-using-double-null-point-grid-type-alignment-gauge

Bigman80
26-10-2018, 08:21
When making your arm board, make sure you get the pivot to spindle distance correct.

WESTLOWER
26-10-2018, 08:22
I am about to change the armboard on my LP12 which will of course will need me to re set up my FR12. First I will use the old armboard as a template and then drill the new board after which I'm in need of help.

I have downloaded a protractor from Vinyl Engine and even if I could understand all the terms used which I can't I believe it deviates from Fidelity Researches own instructions.