PDA

View Full Version : Art Audio Quintet in Triode mode

donmarrese
08-07-2018, 22:55
Whilst the SD ones are being renovated, I need some advice on the art audio quintet I have which at the moment has an issue with blowing an EL34. It's unmodified... But I had a chat with Tom at Art Audio and he recommends transforming this particular valve amp into triode mode... My thoughts are while I'm getting it repaired I may as well go for the upgrade...
Problem is Nottingham is a hike for me...
Has anyone got any experience of turning this amplifier to triode mode and is there anyone in the surrounding London area or south east of England that could perform this conversion?
Your thoughts appreciated

Sent from my ONE A2003 using Tapatalk

Haselsh1
09-07-2018, 07:38
Sorry Don as I have no experience with that particular amplifier but I can say that it doesn't suit all valve amps so move forward with caution.

Sherwood
09-07-2018, 07:47
Don,

I have an Art Audio Quintet that I bought from Tom about 25 years ago. It has been in storage for much of that time as I was working in tropical climes. However, I recently took it over to Tom to get it serviced (he lives not far from me in Nottinghamshire).

First, I wonder if you have misunderstood Tom about an upgrade. If like mine, your is an older model it is already switchable between triode and pentode mode. There will be two dials on the rear which select between the two modes. No upgrade is required for this. My own experience is that triode mode (15w) is far sweeter with superior imaging and detail, and more revealing of the recording acoustic than pentode mode (25w). Pentode mode comes into its own with less efficient speakers. I have run the Quintet in triode mode at more than adequate levels with my Rogers LS3/5a speakers and Reference 3a de Capos, to name but two designs.