PDA

View Full Version : NewClasD Discrete OPAMPs

slate
29-03-2010, 23:49
I first heard about their voltage regulators on this board.

And I can see that they resently introduced a "discrete" OPAMP http://www.newclassd.com/index.php?page=55

I have not been able to google anything relevant other than resellers... Does anyone have any experience with these? are they "just" a Burson alternative?!

Cheers
Jan

aquapiranha
30-03-2010, 19:23
These remind me of the HXR regulators fitted in some Hypex units. different thing though.

I have no experience of them but I can recommend rolling opamps as it certainly makes a difference in CD players anyway.

Robscix
20-04-2010, 18:54
Actually, IIRC, the story is that Audio-GD made the first discrete and the supplied OEM models to Burson. This was their original Burson discrete opamps and was said to be identical to the Audio-GD Earth opamp. Burson has since released a V2, which is said to be a new design. I wouldn't say they are an alternative model. According to the information the unit you're asking about are Class-D which is different then other discretes which use different amplifer classes. I have actually been doing alot of work lately with opamps testing and discretes so I have a few on the way for testing. If you want I can post some initial listening impressions when they arrive.

The other poster is 100% correct opamps swapping is an easy way to upgrade your sound or tune it to your personal gear and tastes.

slate
27-10-2010, 12:10
Robscix; sorry I forgot to subscribe so didn't see your answer until now:doh:

I am sure that others will be interest in your findings when testing opamps and discretes.

One challenge with discretes can be lack of space e.g. in a Caiman.