PDA

View Full Version : Yamaha studio amps, any opinions?

Lawrence001
18-06-2018, 16:53
Rather taken with my 3 channel av amp used as a power amp, good clean sound, so have agreed to buy this one. Has anyone tried anything similar? My experience is that if you go for a good class AB amp then you can tune the system with a nice pre.

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.co.uk%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F 352380484552

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk

Barry
18-06-2018, 17:04
I have no knowledge of Yamaha amplifiers (professional or domestic), but I do use professional broadcast or studio equipment in my set up: Studer: EMT; Nagra and Quad.

I use Quad 510 monoblocks with my main system to very good effect (positioned directly behind each speaker and fed from the preamp via balanced-line interconnects), and a Quad 520 (a dual channel amplifier) with my second system.

It is a commonly held myth to regard professional equipment as being solely designed to be reliable, capable of withstanding rough handling but little else. They do all that, but many also offer an excellent performance in sound quality. :)

montesquieu
18-06-2018, 18:16
Looks interesting. Keen to hear how you get on.

Edward
18-06-2018, 20:02
Looks interesting. Keen to hear how you get on.

+1

Beobloke
20-06-2018, 11:43
I have a Yamaha PC-5002M and it's quite something. Even has two mains leads!

jandl100
20-06-2018, 20:31
I went through a Yamaha semi-pro amp phase a few years ago. Had quite a few models.

Loadsa power for not much dosh.
Good rez (not exceptional), somewhat lean, forward sound lacking a little in bass weight if with good definition and slam.
The ones I owned had fans which switched on when the amp started getting hot - I very seldom managed to get the fan on but I loaned someone one of them and I guess he must have been a bit of an animal (his speakers were of average efficiency like mine) as he said the fan was on a lot, and was just about audible with the music.