PDA

View Full Version : Grille re-covering tips please :)

mikmas
12-04-2018, 00:20
I have recently acquired a pair of floor standers with new fangled modern plastic-frame grilles.
Trouble is the cloth covering is black and I would really like it to be a tasteful brown to match my ultra dowdy interior and 19th century taste.

I have plenty of experience of upholstery practices and re-covering wooden frames but not really up to speed with a substrate that doesn't cope well with staples :(

Has anyone any really useful tips of how to achieve a smart and professional looking result ... or shall I just busk it? (as usual)

walpurgis
12-04-2018, 07:46
As long as the grille cloth is not stretched too tight, just using contact adhesive should be OK. Use it only to the rear of the grille frame though is it may show through the material from the front. I've done this a few times.

rigger67
12-04-2018, 08:40
Yeah, I've done it a couple of times too and it's all a question of patience, really.

I actually used superglue on one occasion - the cheapo £1 stuff - and it worked brilliantly !

Like Geoff said, don't stretch it too hard.
Start on one side, leave it to dry while you do the other grille on one side, go back to the first and pull it into place - maybe use tape to keep it there if need be - and slowly work your way around, swapping between the two grilles as you go.

Very satisfying when you sit back and admire your handiwork :)

mikmas
12-04-2018, 09:50
Thanks chaps :)

Any idea if Copydex would be OK?
Have used it many times before with natural textiles on wood frames but never with synthetics on plastic.

struth
12-04-2018, 09:53
carpet tile spray adhesive is best ive found. gets sticky quick but gives you time to adjust too. a big can is only 5/6 quid too.

mikmas
12-04-2018, 23:26
carpet tile spray adhesive is best ive found. gets sticky quick but gives you time to adjust too. a big can is only 5/6 quid too.