PDA

View Full Version : ALF's Welcome Post

ALF
09-12-2017, 05:42
This is my first post - just one to say "Hello".
My name is Anthony (or "Ant") - my user name "ALF" is my initials forming another nick-name.
I live in a nice little town called Nairne in the Adelaide Hills, South Australia.
I was born less than 20km from here, but have been in a few places around Australia over the last 66 years. I retired at the start of this year and made the big move (well, 70km) from the Barossa Valley to here.
I worked for a couple of decades from 1969 in plant sciences at Adelaide University, and then following 6 years of Seminary study became a clergyman - a pastor of a few small congregations.
Now I’m a free agent (well, sort of - I’m married y’know).
I built my first set of speakers back in 1968 (mono), and have gone through many sheets of plywood and mdf since then. For the past 15 or so years I have been a disciple of open-baffle speaker sound but, since retiring and moving to this new house, I have changed my ways and moved back to bought boxes.
I was a Lutheran clergyman, but my musical tastes are catholic (joke … not funny … sigh…) - I listen to Jazz, Rock (mostly 60s and 70s), Classical, and Folk.
My system at present (and I hope for a long time) has no sawdust around it -
> Weston Acoustics KT120 pp valve amp (Topaz) driving a pair of Altec Model 15 speakers.
> Sonic Driver class D amp driving a pair of Audio Nirvana Classic 10 drivers in transmission lines.
> A little Sonic Impact T amp driving a pair of vintage Wharfedale omnidirectional towers (with the original Wharfedale Super 8 drivers replaced by Visaton B200s.
> The TV ("home theatre") is stereo - none of that surround stuff for us - a Cambridge Audio DacMagic feeding an old NAD C320 BEE playing a pair of Aaron AT5 speakers.
Most of my music comes from a Mac Mini via a Beresford Bushmaster DAC in (mostly) lossless format.