View Full Version : Temple Audio Upgrade

Freeman
20-11-2017, 20:36
Hi,
I've been running a Bantam Gold now for about about 4 years powering it via a 12V SLA battery. The source is a Sonos Connect through a Bushmaster Mk II (also battery powered). A recent upgrade to a pair of Elac BS263s has made a great improvement but I'm now wondering if further gains can be had in the amplification department. The obvious upgrade to a Temple Audio user would be the new 70W monoblocks or maybe a Bantam One. If I upped the budget to maybe £1200 is their better options out there, new or used?

Thanks

Mark

Dauntless
21-11-2017, 04:21
Hi Mark, Temple's new 70w monoblocks are a bit of a shot in the dark as they are very new and most folk won't know much about them. I have looked at them and they appear to offer very good value. Temple seem to have done work so that they can be paired successfully with a passive pre so that looks to me to be a good value upgrade and would be difficult to better buying new from a cost point of view. Some on here don't like class D but I'm not one of them. You would have to use Temple's supplied switch mode supplies as I would think that you would need more than 12v to power them. You may find it useful to talk to John at Temple to see what he has to say on the matter. You could also look at Schiit Audio who have a distributer in the UK. They have some well priced pre amps and a new power amp available for reasonable money. I myself own some of their products and I find they work very well. I'm not too keen on buying used myself. I always wonder why the product is being offered for sale!

wee tee cee
21-11-2017, 07:50
PM sent

Alan D
21-11-2017, 16:59
Much will depend on the synergy of a replacement amplifier with your speakers, so whilst not making a recommendation, I can share the following experience: