PDA

View Full Version : Here's I..

vintagesteve
18-10-2017, 16:09
I'm from Staffordshire in the UK. I've been into many different aspects of audio, vintage audio and video since 1977. These include vintage radio (30s - 60s), vintage TV (up to the early 50s), vintage video (all formats), vintage hifi (from valves to solid state) and 60s portable radios including large high spec ones. I use a 'normal' high quality, solid state set up for my every day listening; Quad 44/405, Sony tuner, Garrard 401/SME/Ortofon MC, Revox A77, Tandberg 440A cassette, Tannoy XT 6F speakers.

I'm a qualified electronics engineer and have worked in the electronics field all my life. I started as an electronics test engineer and morphed through sales and contracts to marketing communications (PR and advertising). Although retired I still write press releases for electronic components on a freelance basis.

I have built my own amplifier and speakers in the past and I have repaired just about any kind of audio equipment that you could mention, although I'm not the quickest or most intelligent of repairmen; a 'dogged' approach usually gets me there in the end! BTW, I don't do repairs as any form of job, just for myself on my own kit. As a musician I have also used recording studios many times and had my own 4-track home studio.

I tend to have fads on the different aspects of vintage audio, my present thing being large, powerful hifi receivers from the late 70s.

JohnJo
18-10-2017, 16:15
Hi Steve

A very warm welcome to you, sounds like you'll fit right in here with that list of interests and kit.

Hope you enjoy the forum.

Puffin
18-10-2017, 16:16
Hi Steve, "an electronics engineer"......brilliant, just the sort guy we like. As to vintage I think a lot us here could be called vintage :lol: I have been "into" all things hifi since I was 11 years old. Look forward to seeing you posting here.

Marco
18-10-2017, 16:20
Hi Steve,

A very warm welcome to AoS! :)