PDA

View Full Version : The Grand Wazoo – An Explanation

The Grand Wazoo
07-05-2008, 13:29
THE GRAND WAZOO – AN EXPLANATION
Hello to anyone who can be bothered, or is foolish enough to be interested in reading about me!

I’ve been into hifi (i.e. spending money on it) since I was about 16 (Garrard SP25, Sony amp, Wharfedale speakers – don’t ask about model nos. I can’t remember, or be bothered to go up to my daughter’s bedroom to see what the amp was.

I’m a forester by profession, having managed woodland for various characters who could loosely be described as ‘the idle rich’ (Baronets & a couple of Dukes). I’ve also spent a while consulting in the very narrow part of the spectrum where the disciplines of forestry and renewable energy meet.

I use the name The Grand Wazoo rather reluctantly and here’s why.
I have a thing about people using internet forums (‘fora’ I think is probably more correct, but anyway…?) and using assumed names. I think that this can give licence to people to say things that they would not normally feel able to say. This encourages rudeness, crudeness and in the worst cases, probably libel. I do not believe that in a normal situation people should be able to say anything without accountability. However, in the case of this forum, I feel I have to alter my stance somewhat. The reason for this is that I will probably be speaking about highly desirable, valuable and portable possessions, worth, in total, far more than the new value of my family car. I will not do anything to allow the guys with the stripey shirts and the bags marked ‘swag’ to find out where my prized possessions reside. Therefore, I will not, in this case, be using my real name.