PDA

View Full Version : New Year diy project: advice sought chaps

Gazjam
27-12-2009, 15:40
Being a bit cash strapped at the moment, I hit upon the idea (from another thread) of upgrading the innards of my AE109 speakers, particularly upgrading the crossover, but looking at wiring too.

Thanks to DJSR and Andre for starting me off in the right direction here:
http://theartofsound.net/forum/showthread.php?p=89837#post89837

I'm a novice when it comes to this thing, so any advice much appreciated.

Now, specifics.

I find the speakers maybe a bit dull and shut in at sensible levels and would like more upper mid/top end "air" and openness.
For AV use they really pack a whallop, very clear, dynamic and ballsy...for music...not so much.
They need a "kick up the bum" to get them shifting air, and usually by that point the neighbours start to complain!

I heard that the 109s have the tweeter smoothed off in the crossover, so maybe this is a place to start here.
I googles and found this;

"To get real airy highs and clear emotive vocals, replace the stock crossover caps to ICW (PX and SA) caps and resistors to 1% wirewound 12W Mills as mid-priced mass-produced speakers won't definitely come with great components."

this was a guy who was nodding his AE209s so I'd imagine similar would apply to my speakers?

Any advice much appreciated!
Gaz.*

Ali Tait
27-12-2009, 16:06
It's a difficult one this Gaz,because different makes of caps will give a completely different sound.The best thing to do is try a few different types and see for yourself.Here would be a good start-

http://wduk.worldomain.net/acatalog/SONIQS_PXX_Polypropylene_Capacitors.html

Or here-

http://www.hificollective.co.uk/components/claritycap_sa.html

Both of these are the same thing,so just check which is cheapest.These are excellent caps for the money.