PDA

View Full Version : Help with setting up a new cart on SME309

mainaman
18-01-2017, 02:45
I have difficulties setting up my Kuzma CAR 40.I attached my previous cart,a Zu 103,in place of an AT one and adjusted only downforce and azimuth as the cart was sounding terrific from the first moment.Maybe it was the simple conical stylus,maybe it just didnt need any adjustments.

After i installed the Kuzma,i noted a lighter bass and some sibilance and splashiness.I started playing with VTA,HTA,distance and overhang.I managed to get rid of the sibilance and the splashiness,but other issues appeared-brightness and/or loss of dynamics.It looks like the cart,like many high-end ones,is very sensitive to even the smallest adjustment.When i get the stylus in the pinhole of the protractor,the tonearm cannot be aligned over the protractor properly and sticks out a bit in front of the outline.When i pull the arm back a bit with the HTA key and it aligns with the outline the stylus cant reach the pinhole.I am still experimenting and i can't understand what to do.The stylus to be in the pinhole or the tonearm to be completely within the outlines?

The manual says to keep the stylus in the pinhole,yet it declares the the most correct way with any cart would be the arm to be aligned along its lenght.Well,it is either one or the other.Despite of the three rows of mounting holes on the cart...I can't make up my mind from listening yet.What would be the correct method?Anybody experienced enough with the modern SME arms?

Yiangos
18-01-2017, 08:06
hey mainman !