PDA

View Full Version : Music Control App for RPi3 and TIDAL

WESTLOWER
11-01-2017, 15:14
Hi was thinking to use on a Rpi 3 / HIFIBerry Digi + pro (with a nice Linear power supply)
feeding into my (posh) USB/SPDIF converter and on to my (posh) DAC

I want to play music from my NAS drive (synology) and TIDAL High Res Streaming...

Which controller would anyone suggest?

I've looked at Roon Audio, looks nice but not sure with the RPi (and subscription is heavy)

Then looked at Volumio but this isn't clear about Tidal support..

I am not a Techie! at all!

and I would like to use the iPad and an I phone to use remotely..

Any suggestions please??

AlfaGTV
11-01-2017, 15:22
You have already answered your question.
Roon will answer all your prayers! The Tidal integration is the very best and the interface in beautifully executed.
Depending on your NAS's performance, a NUC or smiliar might be needed for running the Core Service though! And the Raspberry Pi's work just fine as endpoints, one or several.
Cheers Mike

WESTLOWER
11-01-2017, 15:33
Thanks Mike
I am terrible with PC computers, so to get it clear I can install Roon directly on the RPi3?
and then just control it from the iPad and iPhone?

Also what is a NUC ? (sorry)

You have already answered your question.
Roon will answer all your prayers! The Tidal integration is the very best and the interface in beautifully executed.
Depending on your NAS's performance, a NUC or smiliar might be needed for running the Core Service though! And the Raspberry Pi's work just fine as endpoints, one or several.
Cheers Mike

lovejoy
11-01-2017, 16:00
I've had Roon for over a year now and I don't think I could use anything else. Yes, the price is a bit of a sting at the outset but when you see just how nice it is to use, and how much heavy development work is going into it, it feels worth every penny.