PDA

View Full Version : Recommend me some Monoblocks

madscientist
15-12-2016, 07:32
Hi
I have been searching for a pair of Exposure XVI monos for years now with no success, can anyone recommend other monoblocks that may be suitable for use with an Exposure XIV/IX combo? Must be capable of driving a pair of Neat MFS.
Cheers

Yomanze
15-12-2016, 09:38
Pair of Exposure 3010S2 monos. Or some Avondale monos.

Arkless Electronics
15-12-2016, 15:25
There is no advantage to monoblocks unless it is to enable them to be lifted.... some monster amps would be too unwieldy and heavy if made in stereo form. Just saying.... carry on....

Bigman80
15-12-2016, 15:32
Hi
I have been searching for a pair of Exposure XVI monos for years now with no success, can anyone recommend other monoblocks that may be suitable for use with an Exposure XIV/IX combo? Must be capable of driving a pair of Neat MFS.
Cheers

I'm no expert and generally have no knowledge about compatibility but if Firebottle's new monoblocks would work i can recommend them highly. I have heard them a few times now and they are simply exceptional. In fact, some people are selling their old gear to fund purchases of the mono blocks.

Barry
15-12-2016, 15:44
I use monoblocks, as I like the idea of the power amplifier to be as close to the speaker as possible, thereby minimising speaker cable.

The monoblocks I use are no longer made:

Mark Levinson ML-2
Quad 50E
Quad 510
Quad 405-2 that have been extensively modified and 'monoblocked',

however I believe Quad may still make their QMP monoblock designs.

Yomanze
15-12-2016, 16:11
There is no advantage to monoblocks unless it is to enable them to be lifted.... some monster amps would be too unwieldy and heavy if made in stereo form. Just saying.... carry on....
...but you would see the benefits in a dual mono amp in one case vs a stereo one?

MikeMusic
15-12-2016, 16:40
Belles

I might be biased as I have them and think they are superb

:)

hifinutt
15-12-2016, 16:59