View Full Version : AT OC9 Set up advice please.

Natara
14-12-2016, 21:44
AT OC9 Set up advice please.
Usually I get my dealer to set up and align any newly acquired cartridges but flush with success after changing tone arm cables I have decided to have a go myself and would be very grateful for any help and advice. Cart is Audio Technica OC9 tone arm is a Linn Ittok and deck is LP12 and please remember I'm a complete novice.
:scratch::scratch::scratch:
Kindest Regards

RothwellAudio
15-12-2016, 17:07
There's a lot of information and some downloadable alignment protractors here
http://www.vinylengine.com/tools.shtml
There's more than one alignment geometry possible but getting the cartridge into the headshell with the "right" overhang is critical. But as I said, there are different versions of "right" :scratch:
Then just set the tracking force and the height of the tonearm (if possible) to set the vertical tracking angle (VTA).
Just do a bit of reading first to gain some confidence.

Barry
15-12-2016, 17:27
There's a lot of information and some downloadable alignment protractors here
http://www.vinylengine.com/tools.shtml
There's more than one alignment geometry possible but getting the cartridge into the headshell with the "right" overhang is critical. But as I said, there are different versions of "right" :scratch:
Then just set the tracking force and the height of the tonearm (if possible) to set the vertical tracking angle (VTA).
Just do a bit of reading first to gain some confidence.

Not true. There is only one optimum alignment geometry for a given arm - and that is determined by the design of the arm. Even that, whilst 'optimum' for the arm/cartridge combination, may not be one which achieves the lowest tracking distortion.

RothwellAudio
16-12-2016, 12:27
Not true? How so? This is my understanding of the topic: