PDA

View Full Version : Hello, this is London calling!

Dave99
01-11-2016, 22:42
Hello, my name is Dave, I came across this fantastic forum whilst looking for info on some equipment that I have been fortunate to have been given by my father, namely a Dulci GA5 amplifier (which is a bit sick ). I also got a Jasonkit FMT2 ( or poss 3 ) tuner. I was a keen electronics hobbyist in the early 70's working with simple transistor projects. With my father I built my first stereo amp and refurbished a Phillips tape player we found in the Thames. I couldn't really get my head around I.C.s - perhaps as by that time I was starting to get my arms around girls.... A couple of years ago I built my first valve amp for guitar, a single ended 5 watt job, which beats the pants off of the Fender Switcher I had been using before. Valve equipment - the smell and the lovely glow is embedded in my memories as a small child ( in the early 60's ).
I found the thread by Firebottle on Dulci EL84 amp conversion - very inspiring. If I can't save the Dulci, the useable parts will go towards the construction of a Reverb unit ( similar to the Fender 6G15 )..............one day.
My audio set up consists;

Pye Mozart HFS-20 amp and pre-amp.
Marantz CD52 mkII cd player.
Denon TU-660L tuner.
And some speakers which are reasonable but not identified anywhere - something to be worked on at a later date.
Sadly I am currently without a turntable ( apart from a Garrard SP25 - don't laugh. )

The black cd player and tuner don't really match the beautiful copper front of the Pye, but you get that.

Music wise - rock, psychedelia, British folk, punk, classical - anything really, apart from wailing divas and radio 1 sort of stuff.

I hope that gives you all an idea of 'Me'.

Best regards - Dave.

jollyfix
01-11-2016, 22:54
Hi Dave, welcome to AOS. Similar music choices.:thumbsup: Enjoy the forum.

walpurgis
01-11-2016, 22:58
Hi Dave. Welcome to AOS.