PDA

View Full Version : Source advice please

stabdis7
12-10-2016, 17:14
Im new in hifi im building my first system. In the moment I have roksan caspian m2 amp and AudioVector si1 Avantgarde arrete speakers. Im looking for a best quality sound. I have 1800 budget.im looking for second hand source.
Thanks

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

walpurgis
12-10-2016, 17:30
Analogue or digital?

In other words, do you want to play records or CDs or do you want to stream music.

jollyfix
12-10-2016, 17:45
CD player Geoff, info from other post.

Macca
12-10-2016, 17:57
£1800 for a second hand CD player? The world is your oyster.

I'll start the ball rolling with the Technics SLP1200 broadcast variant as that's my favourite. Don't pay more than £400 and buy a few as when they fail (and they will) that's it.

Or the Sony 777ES which I could also live with happily. But if you want a CD player that sounds more like a turntable forget them.

walpurgis
12-10-2016, 18:01
What is the budget? And is there a preference for second hand or new items.

Is it to be an 'all in one' player or would a CD transport and separate DAC be considered?

Macca
12-10-2016, 18:06
Blimey Geoff it's all in the op. 1800 quid, second hand.

walpurgis
12-10-2016, 18:25
Ah. Perhaps I'm not absorbing things well at the moment. Had a headache all day.

struth
12-10-2016, 19:14
dont see cd player mentioned, but suppose it must be. just says source

JohnJo
12-10-2016, 19:37
£1800 for a second hand CD player? The world is your oyster.

if you want a CD player that sounds more like a turntable forget them.

If you DO want a CD player that sounds like a turntable the original Naim CDS is a peach, it even has a lid to lift! Any of the top CD players with the Philips TDA 1541 DAC are excellent music makers, Marantz, SONY etc. They are difficult to keep on the road though if they need work, bit like an old Jag or Rolls :)

jollyfix
12-10-2016, 20:07