PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Australia

Tamadrums
29-09-2016, 12:14
Hi all,

Just here to say hi and introduce myself - a music lover, a drummer and sound enthusiast (HiFi & live sound).
Been playing drums 10+ years, bands etc and also racked up many hours on the soundboards over the years.....and yes being a drummer my favorite boost on the strip is 63Hz haha.

HiFi gear is quite modest really, a pair of Quad 11L classic's, powered by a Denon Ceol Piccolo receiver,(Denon speakers that came with it are collecting dust at the moment).
I quite like the sound of the Quad 11L's, a decent compromise between colored tone & reference monitor.
Also have a Yammie active sub when I need more bass.

Enjoy all types of music, especially blues/rock/anything Jeff Porcaro.

Currently working on my own DIY Hi-Fi project which I am excited about and also keen to hear what other people are doing with their setups too.

Cheers,
Dan

struth
29-09-2016, 12:32
Hi Dan. Welcome aboard. Hope you enjoy. Not heard the 11l myself, but had the floorstanding version, which i seem to recall were 21l. They were nice in piano black too

Tamadrums
29-09-2016, 12:47
Greetings Struth.

Yeah I forget the floor standing model name too, but sitting at the shop I thought the 11L's shared a similar tonality as the floor standers, but the 11L's just didn't have as 'big of a sound' etc...

struth
29-09-2016, 13:01
Yes, bigger cabs often give that effect, although not always. They are, the 11,s , probably big enough unless you have a big room

Tamadrums
29-09-2016, 13:09
Well the 11L's are in my office for working during the day, but they aren't really suitable for filling up a lounge room in my opinion.
I am currently building a pair speakers that will fix that though, 12" Celestion with a Dayton PT2C Planar Tweeter - semi-open (at the rear) cabinet !!

struth
29-09-2016, 13:14