PDA

View Full Version : Hello you, it's me !

tlscapital
16-09-2016, 10:47
Hi everyone, I'm into vinyl collecting for 30 years and more since a teenager. But it's only since 5 years or a bit more that I ventured into the "vintage" phono bits and had to DIY work on my Thorens turntable and Leak 'Sandwich' speakers in order to keep them going first and to upgrade them in second. I love, collect and play in or out 6T's & 7T's USA 45's singles.

Got convinced then to start and invest into a proper phono set-up quest. I started with a Denon DL-102 (true MONO pick-up) that implied to switch from my dull "classic DJ turntable" into something "evolutive". Ideally I'd have bought a 'start-stop' turntable, like a Garrard 301 or 401. But, as an absolute beginner, I ventured with my little money into a Thorens TD160 'Super' (in disguise) fitted with an SME 3009 'improved' tonearm with fixed headshell.

I stayed "stupidly happy" with that phono set-up for almost 4 years. Woke up one morning with an itch and decided to convert my 'Improved' SME 3009 tonearm into a heavier with detachable headshell to give the Denon DL-102 pick-up a better fit. From then on, I ventured into my Thorens turntable and understood that it was a TD160 'Super' only from the outside !!! It was a '160 Super' for the top-plate only since the inside seems now to be from a 147 'Jubilee'. Both those models shared about everything on the outside (plinth and dust cover)...