PDA

View Full Version : Best amp on a budget?

Cubeman
25-11-2009, 15:33
Hi all,

I'm looking to upgrade my system with a new amp.
I now use a Beresford TC-7520 DAC to listen to my Flac files I stream from my Mac using Cog and Airfoil.
Budget is around €500,- for something to replace my Onkyo TX-SV535 receiver.
Speakers are Acoustic Research Status S50 floorstanders, between the DAC and the receivers sits a Monster 250 Interlink and between my Airport Express and the DAC sits a Beresford Optical cable.
Speaker cable now is standard 4mm Oehlbach stuff, nothing fancy yet but this might change when I upgrade some more.

I have been looking at The Marantz MP6003 and the Rotel RA-04 for starters, but the the feeling came that you guys might know a bit more about what is good and what isn't.

I'm fairly new to hifi so just asking the experts:)

Thanks,

Martijn

speakers-1989
25-11-2009, 15:52
Try and look out for a 2nd hand NAD C272 poweramp. Its a great amp for the money.
I had a C272 once, and it drove my father's Martin Logan Quest Z speakers with great results!

Good luck on your search.

Themis
25-11-2009, 16:06
On solid-state, the Harman Kardon HK-980 is a serious alternative to the Marantz, imho. :)

Cubeman
25-11-2009, 16:27
Now that you mention solid state, I also thought about a Chinese tube amp as they aren't that expensive.
I fact I would love a tube amp, but price of a good one is about the only thing that's keeping me from buying one...

Themis
25-11-2009, 16:31
Now that you mention solid state, I also thought about a Chinese tube amp as they aren't that expensive.
I fact I would love a tube amp, but price of a good one is about the only thing that's keeping me from buying one...
http://www.miniwatt.com.hk/

Cubeman
25-11-2009, 17:35
http://www.miniwatt.com.hk/

I have been thinking about that lovely little amp but I in wouldn't know if it has sufficient power for my 6x4 meter living room.