PDA

View Full Version : Hello have just joined

clinchy
03-07-2016, 17:36
At present I am refurbishing my late fathers Tandberg 4000x. This is my first project and am enjoying this immensely. It has sparked a real interest in reel to reels even without playing my dads tapes yet as project is not complete.
My music tastes are quite wide from 70s onwards and before with jazz and blues. Plus brass bands as my dad was in a brass band for years.

walpurgis
04-07-2016, 08:57
Hello Kevin. Welcome to AOS.

Reel to reel tape machines are very popular here. Look through the Analogue Arts section and you'll see. Start a thread on your project if you like, I'm sure plemty of people will chip in with comment.

Tell us about the rest of your system and about what plans if any you may have for it.

Enjoy the forum,
Geoff.

clinchy
04-07-2016, 22:26
Thanks Geoff
I will have a look at the analogue arts section.This is my first project on a reel to reel and boy what a one to start on. At present I have been doing plenty of cleaning and gaining confidence handling the machine. Have at present took turntables off as the clutch pads disintegrated. Loads of biscuit type material to take out. Going to get hold of some cork and make replacements.
Heads I've cleaned with isotopyl alcohol and been advised to get blue magic metal polish as have some light rust in areas. Heads still might need a relap or replacing.
Pinch roller is not too hard but cracks around the edges so going to try revitaliser or replace if needed.
Few so fingers crossed I will at some point be able to play my late dads tapes. I am really enjoying this project and at 50 have found a new hobby. Will look for another reel to reel once completed, but one that doesn't require so much work,but am taking my time and learning each day

Kevin

struth
04-07-2016, 22:28
Welcome Kevin. Sorry for being late to the greeting :)
Enjoy the forum

clinchy
04-07-2016, 22:35
Thanks Grant will do

walpurgis
04-07-2016, 22:50