PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from Wiltshire

Antinchip
19-05-2016, 13:32
I am a long-standing member of the Pinkfish Media Forum and have been a voyeur here from time to time. As a valve novice I have just recently decided to sample the Croft sound, compare with my present solid sate power amplification and see where that takes me, hence some more recent visits here So to make the most of it I thought I had better sign up!

My present main system comprises;
Linn LP12, Sole MkV sub-chassis, Infinity Black Widow tonearm, Shure V15iii/Jico SAS and Lingo 3 power supply.
Arkless Electronics Turbo phono stage.
Avondale modified Naim CD3 cd player.
Beresford Bushmaster DAC with Anker battery psu.
Chevron Audio Paradox preamplifier.
Avondale M130 mono-block power amplifiers.
Tannoy Turnberry SE speakers.

I have just purchased a Croft Series 7 with a single volume pot from Bourney via Pinkfish, safely received yesterday. My intention is to experiment with it in place of the Avondale power amps but still using the Chevron Paradox preamp for source selection and attenuation. I have given it a quick run in the conservatory system as is (Pure 20 i-pod dock: Celestion Ditton 15's, Croft replacing an Amptastic Mini 1) and it sounds pretty fine. Not yet had the chance to install it in the main system so something to look forward to at the weekend.

Cheers.

Anthony

Arkless Electronics
19-05-2016, 14:18
Welcome to AOS Anthony!

walpurgis
19-05-2016, 14:27
Hello Anthony. Welcome to AOS.

You have a nice selection of equipment. I'm sure the Croft will sound rather good through the Turnberry's.

What music do you listen to and do you have further plans for your Hi-Fi?

Enjoy the forum,
Geoff.

Antinchip
19-05-2016, 15:28
Thanks Jez. Turbo is still sounding good. I hope that you are keeping well.

Thanks Geoff, I look forward to the experience.