PDA

View Full Version : New member from Northumberland

Sparkandjump70
23-04-2016, 10:12
Hello to all on the forum from me, David Sharp.

I am new to this and forums in general but hi fi and music is very important to me. It has healing powers.

About me... forty-five, I'm a family man. Used to work as a graphic artist, guitar builder, carer. Now I clean part-time and starting to study part-time.

Gear wize... loved the sound of hi-fi since and early age and alwayz facinated by the glowing tuners and meters on silver and black facias. I got my first system proper in 1990: a Rotel 820AX amp, Tannoy E11 speakers, Supra cable, then Audioquest Type2 bi-wire cable, Thorens TD 166 MKVII turntable with Rega 250 arm, Rotel 865 CD players, Aiwa cassette deck (now dead) and a Technics TU-Z1 tuner.

All my gear is well looked after. I am now starting to build a system about my age. Currently musing over Armstrong amps, Wharfdale battered and blue speakers, Thorens TD150/SME for vinyl, and a tuner full of charm wired to the airwaves. Although not a gear head, I get a lot of enjoyment from what I have and like nothing better than discussing improvements and options.

Dave

RichB
23-04-2016, 10:31
Hello and welcome to AoS from down the road in Gateshead.

There's a reasonable North East contingent on here and we get together every so often. You may be interested in this... http://theartofsound.net/forum/showthread.php?42467-NEBO-7

Anyway tell us what music you enjoy. We also like to see pics of kit so be sure to start a thread in the gallery section.

All the best

Rich

walpurgis
23-04-2016, 10:47
Hi David. Welcome to AOS.

Putting a vintage system together is fun. I do like the TD150, having owned a few.

You could start a thread in the Past Masters section and discuss equipment options.

Enjoy the forum,
Geoff.

Spectral Morn
23-04-2016, 10:56
Welcome to AoS

Arkless Electronics
23-04-2016, 13:43
Welcome from a fellow TD150 owner in Bedlington :)

Sparkandjump70