PDA

View Full Version : Teach me about sut's

Tom-Brown
01-04-2016, 19:47
Looking to get my new tt sorted in the next couple of months in an attempt to enter the world of MC cart's. I have a superb dual input phono stage and have been trolling ebay for sut's. Now being genuinely doubting Thomas I've seen a couple of adjustable sut's one by graham slee and the other a lounge audio copla. Now looking at other solid state sut's I feel that really can one soild state non adjustable sut perform better than a variable adjustable one and give just as good sound????
All answers welcomed as I'm totally new to MC carts :) :)

struth
01-04-2016, 19:50
probably better with a head amp. Both Jez and Firebottle have loaners on the go,

walpurgis
01-04-2016, 20:05
I don't know about the Lounge Audio, but the Graham Slee is not an SUT. They do an MC phono stage and an MC head amp (not the same thing). A head amp is an alternative to an SUT. The Elevator is their head amp and the MC phono stage I'm familiar with is a version of the Reflex model. I use the Reflex M which is the MM version, with a proper SUT. Sounds great!

Jimbo
01-04-2016, 20:05
+1:) even though I have a SUT Graham i would certainly recommend you try the Firebottle Head amp. I had one on loan and its superb, in fact so good i'm buying one.

daytona600
01-04-2016, 20:39
some light reading

http://www.rothwellaudioproducts.co.uk/html/mc_step-up_transformers_explai.html

Tom-Brown
01-04-2016, 20:41
I'm confused about all this head amp business - I have a great phono stage and happy with my croft destiny so why do I need and use another amp - the slee elevator has various ohm switchable inputs and the copla works like a tuner where u just turn the knob to the required ohms :) :)

awkwardbydesign
01-04-2016, 20:46
Looking to get my new tt sorted in the next couple of months in an attempt to enter the world of MC cart's. I have a superb dual input phono stage and have been trolling ebay for sut's.