PDA

View Full Version : Any TT building experience?

Steph
28-03-2016, 09:53
I am considering rebuilding my Rega Planar 3 with grace 707 tonearm It is all in very good condition. I am an industrial Designer and work in the area of designing and producing 3D models and rendering so I can model it and change material/details etc, with the click of a mouse button . I want to scavenge the TT parts and do a drawing of the TT plinth to get it 3d CNC'd in a material with a high density low resonance whatever that will turn out to be. I have the advantage of being able to see exactly how it will look when it Finished. And basically want to make t look super sexy and improve on details including resonance control etc,. Would love to draw on experience here and maybe post images of my renders for comment. So if you guys want to help me on my way that would be great:)

struth
28-03-2016, 10:05
Sexy is what sexy does;).

Good luck, and i will be very interested... No experience of 3d and not sure exactly how it actually works but it must be fascinating.

YNWaN
28-03-2016, 10:16
I have a broad experience designing turntables and have a similar background to yourself.

A high density well damped material as you describe is Corian although that is a trade name and similar products are available from other manufacturers. These materials are easy to CNC rout and mill.

Personally, for chassis use, I favour the light stiff and critically damped path which is not unlike that taken by Rega in their more expensive designs.

rikardo1979
28-03-2016, 10:25
would be interesting to see some pics and WIP updates ;)

All I did lately was a design of custom made acrylic cover for my Clearaudio Concept TT :)

http://snag.gy/sMSSJ.jpghttp://snag.gy/cedHd.jpghttp://snag.gy/QsJol.jpg

looking forward to see your project

Steph
28-03-2016, 10:29