PDA

View Full Version : New Member from the States...

JJMontague
03-03-2016, 18:47
Hi folks. I'm a new forum member living in New Jersey, USA, about an hour from New York City and an hour from Philadelphia. I'm an engineer by trade, currently working in pharmaceutical packaging, and I moonlight as a musician. I can play several instruments rather poorly (guitar, banjo, harmonica, learning the bouzouki) and I sing in a couple groups. My hobbies include woodworking (my wife graciously allowed me to turn our one-car garage into a wood shop) and tinkering with my humble sound systems. I haven't the budget for ultra high-end audio gear so I've taken to DIY when possible.

The music I mainly listen to (in no particular order) is blues, rock 'n roll, folk, opera, and classical. Although I've recently been listening to a lot of Greek and Irish folk music.

My current gear includes:

Family room where we watch television:

Technics SL1200 turntable with cardas tonearm wiring
Audio Technica AT-120e cartridge
Emotiva XPS-1 phono preamp
Marantz NR1506 used as preamp and hdmi switcher
Parasound HCA-1000a stereo amplifier
Klipsch Forte II speakers
Sony KDL50W800C 50-Inch TV

Basement Theater Room used for both 5.1 and 2-channel listening:

Technics SL1200 with cardas tonearm wiring and KAB fluid dampener
Denon DL-103r cartridge
Nakamichi CA-7A preamp (used for the wonderful Nelson Pass phono stage)
Emotiva USP-1 preamp (includes home theater bypass)
Emotiva UMC-200 surround processor
HTPC for CD, DVD and Blu-Ray playback
Parasound 855a 5-channel amplifier
Various Crown and QSC pro amplifiers - at least 10,000 Watts available
DIY front left + right speakers: Altec 288 drivers with Altec MR594 horns, Bob Crites CW1526C 15" woofers, ALK Engineering crossovers
Klipsch Heresy center channel and surround speakers
Klipsch KG4 side speakers
DIY subwoofers: a pair of Dayton RSS390HF-4 15" drivers in sealed cabinets
Panasonic PT-AE4000U projector

Office:

Bell 2440 integrated tube amp