PDA

View Full Version : Hello . Quad 522 needs mates...

Pete17
17-02-2016, 09:08
I'd a specific set of questions, trawled the forums available and joined here. Forget why exactly, it was a few weeks back but I trust my gut.
I'm a student engineer and musician, readily seduced by beautiful equipment.
I've a Quad 522 that needs a purpose, I've had it serviced but never used it. I know they were built for the BBC but is this possibly a mono amplifier with two channels? Had considered a Quad 33 or 34 to go with it - anyone know if this is viable? The room's not huge- 6 x 5 x 3 metres but I may be tempted to get the speakers in the garden on a good day..!
All best

walpurgis
17-02-2016, 10:29
Hi Pete. Welcome to AOS.

Tell us a bit more about yourself. What music you listen to and what equipment you use in the rest of your system.

Visit either the Blank Canvas area or Past Masters and start a thread there with your amplifier questions. We have quite a few Quad buffs here and I'm sure you'll get some well informed opinions.

Enjoy the forum,
Geoff.

Barry
17-02-2016, 10:29
I'd a specific set of questions, trawled the forums available and joined here. Forget why exactly, it was a few weeks back but I trust my gut.
I'm a student engineer and musician, readily seduced by beautiful equipment.
I've a Quad 522 that needs a purpose, I've had it serviced but never used it. I know they were built for the BBC but is this possibly a mono amplifier with two channels? Had considered a Quad 33 or 34 to go with it - anyone know if this is viable? The room's not huge- 6 x 5 x 3 metres but I may be tempted to get the speakers in the garden on a good day..!
All best

Welcome to AoS Pete.