PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Hong Kong

No Money
17-01-2016, 09:55
Hello all. How to introduce myself and my tastes?

Well, I'm a visual artist who loves music married to a violinist who, not surprisingly, loves music.

We both have broad taste in music with a strong love of Jazz and "Classical". I sang in Punk bands when I was younger and have adventurous tastes in music. I listen to music that ranges from Eric Satie to Stockhausen, Louis Armstrong to The Art Ensemble of Chicago, Industrial to Shirley Collins. We travel so have had the chance to hear different music around the world.

Currently we have a system at home that comprises a very modified Rega Planar 3 with a Goldring cartridge and a Rega phono stage (which is about to be replaced with a tubed stage that I am going to build), a Cocktail X40 hard disk player, an AudioSpace 2 SE Amp (locally built el34 amp) and Rega Jura 2 speakers. In my studio I have a Naim 5i2 CD player, a "Latino" ST70 amp (a modern remake of the old Dynaco) currently running through a home built headphone amp as a preamp and some ProAc Tabllete 50 speakers.

I'm becoming very interested in DIY having built a few small amps for sound art projects and am about to build some small speakers.

Look forward to learning and sharing.

David.

Tim
17-01-2016, 10:04
Hello David and welcome to the forum, which part of Hong Kong do you live in?

Dive straight in and I would think you may get some help or knowledge sharing (if you need it?) when building your new phono stage.

Enjoy the forum.

No Money
17-01-2016, 10:12
Hello David and welcome to the forum, which part of Hong Kong do you live in?

Dive straight in and I would think you may get some help or knowledge sharing (if you need it?) when building your new phono stage.

Enjoy the forum.

Hi Tim, thanks for the welcome, I live in Happy Valley, where the race course is.

I'm sure I'm going to be asking lots of questions.

Tim
17-01-2016, 10:29