PDA

View Full Version : Honest answer required Bushmaster mk 2 vs MF x cans

hixy
22-10-2015, 18:09
I only listen to headphones at the moment out of the bushmaster and the x cans which one sounds the nicest.My headphones are grado 125.

Audio Advent
22-10-2015, 18:54
That's quite a specific question! I'm not sure you'll find anyone with that exact combo to be able to compare which drives those specific Grados the best....

If you have the combos, you might just have to trust your own judgement.

CageyH
22-10-2015, 18:59
One is a headphone amp, the other is a DAC. What equipment are you intending to use it with?

hixy
22-10-2015, 19:07
One is a headphone amp, the other is a DAC. What equipment are you intending to use it with?

Sorry i have a bushmaster which im using to listen to music on my pc through headphones.I guess what im trying to say is will the xcans sound better than the bushmaster for listening to music.Will buying an x cans be money well spent,

I will be going pc to uca 222 to bushmaster then into x cans

CageyH
22-10-2015, 19:13
There is only one way to find out.
I have never used the X cans or your Grados, so can't really advise.

You could try a Capella and if you don't like it, send it back? Or even upgrade to a Caiman II.

StanleyB
22-10-2015, 19:38
If it is for enhanced headphone listening pleasure I would certainly recommend that you try the Capella. It has a couple of controls that you can use to get the best out of your headphone, rather than settling for a fixed performance with varying output level.

Theadmans
23-10-2015, 18:48
Before I got into Beresford stuff I was a big fan of the Music Fidelity X series range.

In fact - I still run an MF X10D tube stage modified by Rock Grotto in series with my Bushmaster MKII - just because I like what it does.

As far as the X Cans question goes I think the Capella would be a good choice. I run the Capella with my Sennheiser HD650s and I doubt it would be bettered by the X Cans.

magical_mouse