PDA

View Full Version : Are CDs dead?

cloth-ears
17-10-2015, 16:44
As an oldie (I started playing music in the early 60’s) I am reluctant to change, a bit of a Luddite.

That was until my son gave me a DacMagic Plus. Over the past week I have managed to rip my CD collection to my laptop. Almost 200 CD’s are now invisible, the space saving is a joy to the wife. And as to the sound quality, that is what was most surprising. At worst it sounds as good as my Roksan CD player but in most cases even better.

Not sure how a cheap and cheerful little black box like the DacMagic can beat my trusty CD player but it does.

I ripped them as Wav lossless files so I should be future proof. Now I don’t have to search for a CD or individual track, they are instantly accessible.

So, is this the end of CDs? It is for me.

AlexM
17-10-2015, 16:50
Bob,

I dived into streaming media in 2008 with the Logitech Squeezebox 3, then a SB touch with various external DACs and haven't looked back since. My CDs are legacy source only, and although I still buy CDs, I just rip them and then they are put away.

It's been a hugely positive development for me, and I listen to a much wider range of music than I used to when I had racks and racks of CDs. I think I am losing nothing to CD-based playback in sound quality, and it is reassuring that my library is backed up in multiple places for safety - CDs do get damaged and lost.

Regards,
Alex

cloth-ears
17-10-2015, 17:02
Hi Alex, now you said "backup" I suppose I really should backup my laptop. It would be very bad indeed to lose all my music, especially since I have decided to give my CD collection to the local church for their next jumble sale

struth
17-10-2015, 17:11
Indubitably:eyebrows: and at least 2 copies just in case...leave one with a friend in case of fire/theft etc

cloth-ears
17-10-2015, 17:13
Indubitably:eyebrows: and at least 2 copies just in case...leave one with a friend in case of fire/theft etc

Excellent point

Audio Al