PDA

View Full Version : And a good evening from London....

zingyzangyzongy
17-09-2015, 22:45
Hi folks,

Thought I had better join a hifi forum as I have been lurking about many sites especially those relating to vintage hifi which is something I have just 'discovered'. Don't know why it has taken me so long, but there you go - better late than never! I'm no expert by any means, but I've spent plenty of time in recording studios and appreciate a decent sound. I'm more the sort of person who buys gear and lives with it for a long time, rather than endlessly chasing something elusive. At the moment I love my current setup.

In 1985 my first hifi was an MF A1 amp/SystemdekII/Yamaha CDP/Nakamichi BX125E/Gale 301 setup bought new. I still use the turntable and I recently refoamed the speakers, but they live in the loft along with the tape machine. CDP was replaced by Marantz CD63MkIIKI. I recently bought what I consider a beautiful -looking and -sounding Yamaha CR700 (1971?), and immediately realised how wimpy my MF amp was (no offence to A1 fans!), and sold it. I have never looked back. Next I bought a tatty but cheap pair of Ditton 44s (1972ish), contemporary to my receiver and tarted them up cosmetically as they were pretty banged up around the corners and the speaker cloth was literally crumbling. They look so much better and sound great (or did until tonight, but I'll be starting a thread on that asap!). I also have a Sony 6055 which I haven't really got know yet, though aesthetically the Yamaha wins hands down for me. ;-) I have a few other bits n bobs too.

I like most music forms, but particularly (in no particular order) jazz/rnb/soul/experimental/avant garde/pop/rock/blues/dance/some classical, etc

struth
17-09-2015, 22:56
Welcome Pim. We have a few members who have Dit 44's and they are well regarded in vintage terms. Speakers I find n many ways have not got much better than some of the old great ones

zingyzangyzongy
17-09-2015, 23:05