PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Oxford

MrRadish
08-09-2015, 20:04
Hi all, I'm Andy. I've been lurking here for a while but I haven't actually got around to saying hello yet!

I should probably create a thread for my system but I'd just be spamming you all as it changes daily. I've decided I don't like Bipolar or digital amps and I can't be bothered with tubes, which leaves me with MOSFETS I believe. I'm not an engineer so I may be talking nonsense, but I think that's right. I'm currently experimenting with the old MF A1 and B200, both of which are very enjoyable but they're in need of a service so I can never be sure if it's the condition of the amp or the design that I'm listening to. The A1 seems to sound bigger (more encompassing) and more engaging, but it's less dynamic than the B200, so I'm never going to be completely satisfied am I? :scratch:

For speakers I've decided that Harbeth aren't my cup of tea so those will need to go and I'm thinking about single driver speakers instead, such as Eclipse. Has anyone tried those with MF or other small MOSFET amps? I'm in a small room and can only play music quietly, so the limited bass should be fine. I'm using some old Mission 760iSE at the moment which are the perfect size for the room, and sound pretty good, but ultimately do betray their budget status.

I'm mostly digital on the front end, having tried several audio PCs all requiring a string of boxes and power supplies that just mess up the room, yet now I'm actually drifting back to CD as it's a more tangible experience. It's just a shame that solid state (PC, card players, network devices etc) tend to sound better as a transport. So that's still a work in progress too.