PDA

View Full Version : Sony - Back to the future

Jimbo
23-08-2015, 13:28
Popped into a Sony Centre yesterday to have a quick look at the latest TV,s which are always very impressive from SONY.

As I was looking round the shop I noticed they had all their Hi Rez players there so I started playing with them as you do :)

Very nice ergonomics and the future of all things digital.;)

I was approached by one of the staff who was very knowledgable and courteous and he took me through its capabilities, Internal HD, ripped CD and 24 bit capabilities etc. I had a very pleasant chat and towards the end I told him I only had a vinyl set up and my girlfriend still uses a SONY music centre form 1976.

His reply was, " we play stuff out the back of the shop with equipment from 1970". :lol:

Firebottle
23-08-2015, 13:54
His reply was, " we play stuff out the back of the shop with equipment from 1970". :lol:

Brilliant :eyebrows:

Barry
23-08-2015, 14:31
In my time I've had three pieces of Sony gear: two '90s vintage CD players and a cassette deck (my first) bought in the early '80s.

All were very well built, possessed high sound quality and, most importantly, were reliable and never gave me any trouble. Many think Sony overpriced and poor value for money (a bit like B&O) - I don't. :)

Macca
23-08-2015, 14:35
I am also a Sony fan, both new and old. Does what it says on the tin and you can usually expect a long working lifespan. I've not been in a Sony centre for many years but their prices used to be outrageous. If you bought last year's model from some discount place like Hyperfi you could get the top of the range for what the Sony centre was asking for the latest entry level item.

Barry
23-08-2015, 14:43