PDA

View Full Version : iTunes 9

sburrell
18-09-2009, 20:26
Hi,

I'm holding off on updating to this for various reasons. Any opinions yet on whether it offers any sonic improvements on OS X?
:popcorn:

SteveW
18-09-2009, 21:06
OS X is an operating system
iTunes 9 is a bit of Apple software what plays music files.

sburrell
18-09-2009, 21:22
Hahaha that's cool, I guess my post could be read that way! You'd never guess I graduated in Linguistics! :doh:

No, when I said "on OS X" I meant as opposed to Windows. To paraphrase: does the OS X version of iTunes 9 offer any sonic improvements?:)

Alex_UK
18-09-2009, 21:51
I read it the way you intended Simon - but then I recalled you're a Mac user. Not quite on topic, but related, v 9 on Windows Vista doesn't sound any different to my cloth ears, but only limited listening so far.

SteveW
19-09-2009, 08:47
Sorry Simon...its me being a bit fick.

I've updated to itunes9 on our Mac's. Its a much better interface than previously, but whether it offers any sonic improvements is doubtful. Wish I could upgrade to Snow Leopard, which does apparantely offer improvements, but I can't/ Built in obsolescence ...cheers Apple.

From what I've been shown though ...Flacs ripped on a PC sound better than Flacs or Apple Lossless on Macs (before Snow Leopard anyway)...and itunes can't play these anyway...again...Cheers Apple.

roob
19-09-2009, 11:53
Check around the mac forums there are a lot of people saying iTunes 9 sounds shit and there are problems with streaming. I have upgraded and to be honest it sounds fine to me.
There is a discussion here
http://www.pinkfishmedia.net/forum/showthread.php?t=68473

sburrell
20-09-2009, 00:07
@Roob: What a coinkidink!* That's the exact thread that prompted me to post the iTunes 9 query here in the first place :cool: