PDA

View Full Version : Hi newbie here that will bugging you all with questions!

griff74
15-07-2015, 09:10
Hi all, just thought I would introduce myself.
I have recently (this weekend) acquired a free pair of 80's Kef C60's (serial number 2005 so I assume they are early ones, 86 maybe?), they were left in a house my brother has just bought and I caught my sister in law about to bin them on Sunday so I thought I would rescue them, even though they looked in a right state, they were completely white with dust, cobwebs and what looked like snail trails (the house is very old, 1700's cottage and has been empty for a while). I got them home, gave them a good going over with the handheld Dyson then used 3 buckets of slightly soapy warm water and they came up a treat, just a few chips, which as they are ash black I can fill in with a black marker and one of the grills has some of the mesh peeling (I might glue it but I intend to use them sans grills anyway!)
Thankfully I had got them cleaned up before my OH had come downstairs and saw the state of them!
I didn't know if they actually worked or not and didn't want to hook them up to my brand new Onkyo AV amp or my old Denon one so I dragged a very old Sony midi-system out of the cellar and hooked it up and to my surprise they work, all drivers ok but the sound was a bit muddy at first, so I thought I would leave them on at a moderate volume and see what happens.
After about 40 mins they sort of woke up, became very clear and musical so I swapped them onto my old Denon AV amp and cranked up the volume and all I can say is wow, I am very impressed, very detailed and clear highs, lovely controlled bass and mids, I'm hooked on old hifi now!