PDA

View Full Version : My streaming setup - what am I missing?

jandl100
12-07-2015, 06:52
I'm a streaming newbie and I am confused!

What I've done is connect a USB output from my laptop to a USB input on my DAC.
Subscription to TIDAL and I just play music streamed live from the cloud from the truly vast TIDAL catalogue..
Switch DAC or pre-amp input to change to silver disc (for DVD or for what isn't on TIDAL) or turntable etc.

Why do other folk have no end of boxes and software/firmware/hardware/malware, and endlessly fiddle around, to achieve what seems to me to be the same thing? :scratch:

Am I missing something?

brian2957
12-07-2015, 07:39
I keep mine very simple too Jerry . I use a stripped down computer as a music server and a DAC connected to it via USB . Music is stored on a 2TB external HDD and it's very good indeed. I also use JRiver media player which I find is excellent . Keep it simple IMO.

Stratmangler
12-07-2015, 08:21
I have a NAS, and my music files reside on that.
The NAS runs a program called Logitech Media Server.
The server program controls local file access and also runs apps for various streaming services. Spotify and Qobuz work fine, and I believe that Tidal can also be accomodated.
My Squeezebox Touch connects to the server program on the NAS.
My Squeezebox Touch outputs the files via my DAC and into my amplifier.
I can control the Squeezebox Touch from an IR remote, an app on my smartphone, the web browser on my computer, and as a last resort I can control the player from its touch screen.

The NAS spins down after about 15 minutes if it's not being accessed, so uses very little mains juice when it's asleep.

The only downside is that you need to be able to get your head around computer networking, or at least have a friend who can help if you get into a mess with it.

What's so difficult to get your head around? :scratch:

DSJR
12-07-2015, 08:46