PDA

View Full Version : Streaming advice

HackneyRF
14-06-2015, 12:43
Hi folks

A novice question regarding streaming.

Essentially to play my digital music files I do it by plugging my laptop directly into my Adam Audio Active speakers via a USB connection. Lately however I have been thinking I might like to control said digital files from a tablet device. What might be the best way to do this? What device could I put my digital files onto so that a tablet or smartphone will be able to see them and be able control them via a good interface. I have used Winamp on my laptop for years and feel very settled with it with regard to digital files. Of course I would also like to be able to listen music sometimes from the internet.

I'm very new to streaming and know very little about it.

Thanks in advance for any advice

Cheers

Loz

Stratmangler
14-06-2015, 13:31
If you like Winamp then the first thing to do is look around for Winamp remote control apps for your tablet.
A quick Google brings up a few possibilities.
You should also look at WASAPI or ASIO drivers for the device you're plugging the USB from the computer into (depends on how old the device is, and whether or not WASAPI drivers have been written).

WAD62
14-06-2015, 15:08
You should also look at WASAPI or ASIO drivers for the device you're plugging the USB from the computer into (depends on how old the device is, and whether or not WASAPI drivers have been written).

As Chris says the key to playback is either ASIO or WASAPI, depending on your O/S...

This may be of help;

http://theartofsound.net/forum/showthread.php?20686-Software-media-players-tricks-and-tips

Rothchild
14-06-2015, 18:01
If remote control is what you're after then you already have some answers. If you want a streaming solution then I really like: http://www.subsonic.org/pages/index.jsp and / or http://www.madsonic.org/ (madsonic is a fork of subsonic, they're the same underlying tech)