PDA

View Full Version : Audio System Rack

StanleyB
10-09-2009, 22:38
Anyone ever made their own, or thought about doing it?

I started thinking about drawing my own more than a decade ago, and let one or more professional companies make the various bits for me. Then it is just a bolt together job on my part. About three years ago I started drawing the various bits in Microsoft Visio. I then searched the web for all the bits to see if anyone had something similar or close enough on sale. That way I could cut some of the cost by eliminating customized machined parts.

Just a few weeks to go now:). I am waiting for the last bits to be delivered at the end of the month. I am sooo excited. I hope it looks even better than it is imprinted in my mind, and that I got my dimensions right... Otherwise it will be like a botched MFI style job.

That's brings me to the idea of a topic to discuss some possible designs with good technical merits as well as aesthetics. Anyone think it's a good topic idea, or are you guys quite satified with those converted milk crates?

Stan

leo
10-09-2009, 22:59
I'll be watching this with interest, hope your going to give the camera a good work out when it starts to go together :eyebrows:

StanleyB
10-09-2009, 23:15
Oh yes, pictures:). I haven't been so excited for a long time about a mechanical structure that I have worked on. I am also proud of the fact that I managed to find British engineering companies who could make and supply 95% of the parts. Some of those parts might not have been designed for use in a audio rack mind you;).

The Grand Wazoo
10-09-2009, 23:15
Good stuff Stan, I'm interested.
Regarding racks, there's lots of pseudo scientific theory propounded, but no story I've heard yet has come near to convincing me that someone has produced 'the way' to do it. And some of the prices bounced around are (shall we say).............. interesting.

Cheers

The Grand Wazoo
10-09-2009, 23:19