PDA

View Full Version : what should i be looking for

Bbdave
23-03-2015, 07:22
I have been advised to post here from the welcome thread. Just to recap my dad bought me these down at the weekend his old gear from the garage one of the channels is broken in the amp the rest works so what do i need to get a small system working so i can keep an eye out? i am new to this kind of gear so need it simple.

http://i127.photobucket.com/albums/p127/bbdave/Mobile%20Uploads/20150321_101352_zps8oqx8hgc.jpg (http://s127.photobucket.com/user/bbdave/media/Mobile%20Uploads/20150321_101352_zps8oqx8hgc.jpg.html)

Dave

Spectral Morn
23-03-2015, 08:35
First thing I would do is get all the items serviced, this might be relatively cheap but with items sitting awhile and quiet old, dry solder joints, capacitors and resistors going off value (maybe about to fail), dirty pots etc the work required to bring these up to 100% performance and functionality may be more extensive and cost a bit, but it's worth doing.

Regards Neil

walpurgis
23-03-2015, 09:48
Hi Dave.

You need to have some idea of a budget to work to to assemble a system around the items you have there. It looks as though you will require a cartridge to mount in the SME arm and a turntable to mount the arm on. Then as has been mentioned, the Quad amplifiers should be serviced. Suitable speakers should not be difficult to find.

It is worth going about all this properly as you have the basis of a very nice system there. Look out for a turntable with an SME arm mounting cut-out already made, it will save you some bother.

There are AOS members in Devon who may be able to assist.

eBay is a good source for items. When you are ready, post questions here about any potential purchases and you'll get advice.

mooblie
23-03-2015, 10:38