PDA

View Full Version : Phono amp question

Tom-Brown
15-02-2015, 12:17
This is going to show what a total novice that I am!!! At the moment I run my turntable through a phono stage to my amp which does not have a dedicated phono stage input. I'm looking to upgrade my amp in the future.
The question is - If I get a new amp with a dedicated phono stage, can I still use my existing phono amp into the new phono stage input without causing any damage or will it enhance the amp phono stage??

YNWaN
15-02-2015, 12:36
No, you can't.

You could connect your current phonostage to one of the line level inputs, but not the phono input. If you did, it wouldn't in any way enhance it, it would create a very odd balance as the RIAA curve would be applied twice and quite possibly overload the input.

Tom-Brown
15-02-2015, 13:56
Thanks for that, short and to the point :) :)

Graham

DSJR
15-02-2015, 17:23
The main question is also, how many boxes do you want? The enthusiasts here don't care how many boxes their stereo's contain - and that's fine by me as my lash-ups are this way:rolleyes: - but others like a simpler life, so buy an amp or preamp with phono stage built in :)

Good luck in your audio 'journey' and don't forget the music on the way...

walpurgis
15-02-2015, 17:33
If you buy an amp with built in phono stage. You can plug the external phono stage into an AUX input and run two turntables, should it take your fancy.

Gordon Steadman
15-02-2015, 17:46
If you buy an amp with built in phono stage. You can plug the external phono stage into an AUX input and run two turntables, should it take your fancy.

Just what I do plus I use the usually unused radio input for a second phono stage when I fancy mucking about with three of my turntables:)

If I fancy using four, I could use the tape input as well:lol:

Tom-Brown
16-02-2015, 13:51
Oh No!!! Now you've got me thinking!!! TWO turntables :eek::eek:

The Barbarian
16-02-2015, 13:54